The West is the best

20 02 2010

Photos I took out west this summer.

The Darby rodeo. Half the people there screamed at me for not fleeing, but rather taking this photo.

The bull veered off instead of impaling me.

A rodeo clown, photographed hipster style.

Most people don't know or care, but my left leg is fairly crippled. So one day I foolishly went hiking and couldn't go any further, so I hitch hiked back to the car. It was pretty cool though, because I hitch hiked on a boat. These are the Californians who picked me up.

The town of Bannack, Montana, suffered severe depopulation after the Gold Rush. It is now totally abandoned. I took this picture of an old truck there. It's not a postcard, I took it.

Although Bannack is totally abandoned an over 100 miles from the nearest town (with a population of less than 200), this masonic temple there is still used for certain ceremonies.

A picture from the road on the way to Bannack. It looke like this 360 degrees around us. The isolation is amazing.

Rows of abandoned houses in Bannack.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment